“Ponce Park” used to be a fishing village that was home to a few families in early 1908. Valda Stone was the daughter of Frank E and Annie who had moved to Ponce Park from Titusville. Valda met and married B.G. Timmons and took over the family river row boat business. In 1948 they officially opened Timmons Fish Camp. B.G. Timmons son Frank bought a party boat “Marianne” to berth at the fish camp and began running deep sea fishing trips. More boats were added as the business boomed. Captain Frank Timmons is recognized for pioneering the party boat fishing business out of Ponce Inlet.
After moving the boats to the new marina office, Timmons Fish Camp was converted to a fresh fish market. Captain Frank purchased the family fish camp and built a bar on the waterfront for fisherman. This was the original “Down the Hatch” pub. Soon after in 1975 the restaurant was added and the name of the pub changed to “Down the Hatch Seafood Restaurant”. As the popularity of the restaurant grew an outside deck was added.
Today local and visitors can enjoy the fresh catch of the day and a beer while peering out at the river flowing by. Stop by for a great dining experience and taste of local history.